Event

Repurposing Agricultural Subsidies To Restore Land

25 August 2021

Abstract

Every year, governments spend more than $700 billion on agricultural subsidies. But many of these policies fail to achieve their economic development goals, like boosting crop yields and creating jobs. Revitalizing 150 million hectares of degraded agricultural land could create at least $85 billion in economic benefits, $30-40 billion per year for smallholder farmers, and additional food for 200 million people.

Join World Resources Institute for the launch new report, Repurposing Agricultural Subsidies To Restore Degraded Farmland And Rural Prosperity. Government leaders from Africa, Asia, and Latin America, who have done the hard work of reforming agricultural subsidy policies, will share their perspectives in advance of the UN Food Systems Summit. Then, a panel will highlight what shifts in the policy environment need to happen so that agriculture can become a major driver of the UN Decade on Ecosystem Restoration (2021-2030).

August 25 | 9:00 AM EDT | 3:00 PM CET | 4:00 PM EAT | 6:30 PM IST

Speakers:

  • Izabella TeixeiraCo-Chair of the International Resource Panel and Former Minister of Environment, Brazil
  • Helen DingEnvironmental Economist, WRI
  • S Vijay KumarDistinguished Fellow, TERI, and Lead, Food and Land Use Coalition – India
  • Ajay Vir JakharChairman, Bharat Krishak Samaj (Farmers’ Forum India)
  • Debra MagwadaFounder and CEO, Rejuvenate! Umhlaba
Weblink https://wri.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_aK3b_RJ5RKSmJqIjcQppSg

Similar Events

Menu